• Design: Andrew Fletcher1, Jeremy Hill1, Simon Hunter4, Warren McNabb2
  • Programming: Andrew Fletcher1, Joshua Ghezzi3, Christopher Pearce3
  • Research and Nutrition: Lakshmi Acharya2, Natalie Russell3, Caroline Gunn1, Pradeep Malakar1
  • Resources: We would like to thank shiftn for permission to reproduce the global food system map.

Data Sources

  • Food Production: United Nations Food and Agriculture Organisation (FAO) Food Balance Sheets
  • Food Composition: United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) FoodData Central
  • Demographics: UN FAO Annual Population and United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) World Population Prospects
  • Nutrition Requirements: European Food Safety Authority (EFSA) (2017) Dietary reference values for nutrients and UN FAO (2013) Dietary protein quality evaluation in human nutrition.
  • In-home LossesUN FAO (2011) – Global Food Losses and Food Waste
  • Animal Feed Allocation: Mottet et. al. (2017) Livestock: On our plates or eating at our table? A new analysis of the feed/food debate
  1. Fonterra Cooperative Group Limited
  2. Massey University
  3. KPMG
  4. Independent Advisor